Workshop: Living Life on Mission

dougepiphany

Workshop: Living Life on Mission

Pastor Doug Logan (Epiphany Fellowship in Camden, NJ)

Sunday, March 17, 2013 | 3:00 – 7:00 pm

at Seven Mile Road Church

Growing up, if you had asked me to describe mission, I would have said something like “it’s a day spent on a busy street in Philly handing out pamphlets” or “it’s when you spend a week in a poverty-stricken country building homes.” I understood mission to be something that was done during a set period of time that looked very different than my normal life. Now don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with pamphlets and hammers. It is just that my idea of mission was incomplete. In my understanding, mission had nothing to do with every day life. Being a missionary was a hat that I put on during special events.

What I failed to realize was that there were real people with a real need to hear the gospel around me every single day. They came in the form of family, friends, neighbors, co-workers, postal workers, and cashiers. The rhythms of their life were awfully similar to mine. They shop, eat, work, clean, play, travel, and have conversations like I do. In other words, I didn’t need to create opportunities to share my life with these folks, I just needed to be intentional.

But what I also failed to realize was that others had intentionally done this for me. I wasn’t told about Jesus on a busy street corner or in a foreign country. There were many conversation that occurred over many years by many people in the every day moments of my life. Over time, God brought these seeds that others planted in my heart to life.

Maybe you’ve been wrestling with what it looks like to live life on mission. Maybe you have practical questions:

“How do I tell people about Jesus?”

“What am I supposed to say?”

“When am I supposed to say it?”

Maybe you want to “be on mission” but it feels like something that you’re ill-equipped for or don’t really understand. I invite you to join us this Sunday to hear from Pastor Doug Logan of Epiphany Fellowship as he speaks to us on the theology and practice of mission. The sessions will be highly practical and there will be plenty of opportunities for Q&A.

If you haven’t already, you can sign up on our Facebook page. Let’s ask the Lord to use this time to lead us to pursue others in the way He has pursued us.

Leave a comment